this is us

meet the flasc team

The FLASC community is home to not only enviroment enthusiasts,
we’re also group of technologists, engineers and designers to create a better future.

Board of Directors

Juanito Camilleri
Non-Executive Chairman
Juanito Camilleri holds a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Cambridge. He is rector-emeritus of the University of Malta, and a full professor, presently chairing the University's Centre for Entrepreneurship & Business Incubation. Juanito has over 30 years experience in leadership, investment strategy and entrepreneurship. He has established leading technology companies and sits on the boards of several public and private companies.
Saviour Zammit
Non-Executive Director
Saviour Zammit holds a Ph.D. in Telecommunications Engineering from the University of Aston. He is a full professor of communications and computer engineering and served as Pro-Rector for Research and Knowledge Transfer at the University of Malta. With over 30 years of experience in management, corporate strategy and entrepreneurship, Saviour has served as a board director and technical director for a number of public and private companies.
Tonio Sant
Non-Executive Director
Tonio Sant holds a Ph.D. in Wind Energy from TUDelft. He is a Full Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Malta. He has over 20 years experience in the renewables sector and has contributed to over 140 peer-reviewed publications in the field. Tonio is a co-inventor of the solution and leads the technical development, including several publicly-funded projects.
Robert Farrugia
Non-Executive Director
Robert Farrugia holds a Ph.D. in wind measurement and flow modelling from the University of Malta. He is a resident academic at the University of Malta with over 25 years experience in wind measurement and data analysis. Within the FLASC team, Robert co-ordinates early-stage R&D studies such as ongoing research on integration of FLASC storage in green hydrogen applications.
Daniel Buhagiar
Executive Director
Daniel Buhagiar holds a Ph.D. in offshore renewable energy from the University of Malta, during which he developed the FLASC storage technology. Before co-founding FLASC, he worked on product development in the automotive battery sector. At FLASC, Daniel leads the commercialisation of the technology, and manages collaborations with key stakeholders across a range of applications.
Anton Bartolo
Executive Director
Anton Bartolo is an electrical engineer and holds a Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering from The Ohio State University. He is founder and director of the Knowledge Transfer Office at the University of Malta and brings an extensive track-record in intellectual property management and technology transfer. As an executive director of FLASC, he supports primarily on strategy development, industrial collaborations, and intellectual property management.
Mevin Kistnassamy
Advisory Board Member
Mevin Kistnassamy has over 20 years international experience in engineering, project and operational management, business development, M&A, and corporate venture capital. He has extensive technical experience and a global network in the offshore energy industry. He co-created Subsea 7’s venture capital unit, where he negotiated and managed investments and strategic commercial partnerships across Europe, the US and Brazil.
Jerome de Richemont
Advisory Board Member
Jerome de Richemont has over 20 years experience in finance, project management, M&A, and corporate venture capital. He has a strong track record in operational delivery of large and complex capital projects and has led major acquisition projects paving the way to Subsea 7’s energy transition strategy. Jerome co-created Subsea 7’s venture capital unit where he managed investments in marine renewable energy technologies.

By using this website you consent the use of cookies and data collection technologies. To learn more about these technologies and your choices read our Cookie Policy.